Music: Ships in the Night by Mat Kearney

I had this song on repeat for a while a couple of years ago. At the time, the melody kept me captivated. This morning, I heard the song on the radio and really heard the lyrics and the story for the first time.

The story of a couple trying hard to talk with each other but they only seem to passing each other by like ships in the night.

I have had a very tumultous last few weeks. However, in the midst of all of the chaos, I let go. The irony is that this opened my eyes to my part in the hurt and strife of the relationship between my wife and I. So much hurt thrown at each other in a misguided attempt to get us to really listen to what each of us was trying to say.

We avoided so many conversations that it is now almost impossible to have any at all.

I really believed that I was a good listener. Honestly, I was only fooling myself.

This song really hit home today.

ships

Leave a Reply

